Staying safe while on your motorcycle is important. Make sure and check out Motorcycle Laws And Regulations and How To Be Extra Safe while out on the road.
Motorcycle Laws And Regulations: How To Be Extra Safe
Whether you are an experienced motorcycle rider or you are only getting started, your priority should always be your safety. Motorcycles are pretty enjoyable and fuel-efficient, making them an excellent choice for many people. For experienced riders, this is not new. However, anyone that is still new in the world of motorcycle riding can experience an adrenaline rush.
One unifying element between the two types of motorcycle riders is the risks associated with motorcycling. Regardless of how skilled and experienced they are, motorcyclists are more likely to sustain more severe injuries or even lose their lives in the event of an accident as compared to drivers.
Additionally, a significant percentage of deaths caused by motorcycle accidents involve single-vehicle crashes. The number of deaths caused by motorcycle accidents is scary, even for experienced riders.
Although these statistics can be scary, they should not stop you from doing what you enjoy. However, you need to adhere to these motorcycle laws in Michigan to improve your safety. This article covers some of the most critical laws motorcycle riders in Michigan should stick to and how they can enhance their safety on the road. Read on for more information.
1. Operating Requirements
To qualify as a legal motorcycle rider in Michigan, you should have a valid driver’s license admissible in Michigan. The lessons should include the CY motorcycle endorsement. You also need liability insurance to provide sufficient coverage if you cause an accident that causes injuries to someone else. You can only get a CY endorsement if you complete the knowledge vision and road skills test. For riders under the age of 18, you must complete a motorcycle safety course through the office of the Secretary of State.
If you are as young as 16 years old, you can qualify for a temporary instruction permit to learn how to ride a motorcycle. This permit allows you to ride a bike under the visual supervision of a licensed adult during daylight. They expire after 180 days but can be renewed.
2. Helmet Law
Under the Michigan motorcycle laws, specific individuals can choose whether or not to wear a helmet. You can decide not to wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle if you are older than 21 years and qualify for at least 20000 dollars in first pay medical benefits. You should also have had your motorcycle endorsement for two years or more or pass an approved motorcycle safety course.
For passengers, you can opt-out of wearing a helmet while riding on a motorcycle if you are at least 21 years old and have 20,000 dollars in first pay medical benefits in addition to the motorcycle operator’s insurance policy.
Anyone below 21 years must wear a motorcycle helmet approved by the department of transportation. Although not everyone is required to wear a helmet in Michigan, it offers one of the most effective defenses against serious injury in the event of a motorcycle accident.
3. Needed Equipment
Every motorcycle rider should use shatterproof goggles, a windshield, or a face shield when riding at 35 mph or more. They should also have fully functioning rear and front brakes, working headlights, stop lights and taillights, properly installed rear view mirrors, a permanent seat, a muffler, and a horn.
4. Lane Use
In Michigan, motorcyclists have the right to an entire lane in traffic. They can also ride side by side or two abreast. However, reading between the lines and lane splitting is prohibited.
5. No-Fault Laws
In Michigan, the law does not categorize motorcycles as motor vehicles. This means that motorcycle riders cannot obtain no-fault benefits in the event of an accident unless the accident involved another motor vehicle. If that is the case, you can get the Michigan no-fault benefits through the other motor vehicle’s insurance policy. If the car does not have a car insurance policy, you may get the no-fault benefits through your auto insurance policy valid in Michigan. If you don’t qualify for any of these situations, you will have to use the optional medical coverage.
6. Negligence Claims
Suppose you sustain injuries through a motorcycle accident caused by the negligence of another driver. In that case, you can file for a personal injury claim if your injuries qualify as “serious impairment of bodily function.” Accidents caused by the effects of potholes allow you to file a lawsuit against the state or city government if you can prove that they were aware of the dangers but failed to take the necessary measures to mitigate the risks.
Now that you know all the laws and regulations surrounding the operation of a motorcycle in Michigan take the necessary steps to keep you and your passengers safe. If you happen to get involved in an accident while riding a bike, seek medical attention as fast as possible. You can then call a personal injury attorney to file a claim so you can get compensation for your injuries.